Mushroom Melody Pizza

I keep hearing these rumors that if I trade meat for veggies, I might be able to cut down my calorie intake. As a believer in most things fairy tale, magical, and imaginary, I’ve been naive enough to believe this.

I’ve also been informed that Halloween is in less than a month. Guess I should be working on that as well… so this is what I came up with as a meat-free meal.

This came out so good!

I never eat mushrooms, but for some reason, after my almost two hour workout this is what I wanted to eat.

Collect the following:

Multi-grain pizza dough

Olive oil

Parmesan Cheese

Fat-free mozzarella cheese, shredded

1 cup mushrooms

half a green pepper

Diced Roma tomato

1/4 onion, sliced into rings

fresh garlic

Preheat oven to 350. Cook onions and garlic in olive oil on low until onions are see-through. Spread out the dough on the sheet, I like to put some flour down on the bottom so it doesn’t stick to the cookie sheet. Pour some of the oil from the onions and garlic on top of the dough and cook for 10 to 12 minutes, or until partially cooked through.

I could probably work on making the pizza more round or square. This is a new shape.

Look at those yummy veggies!

Add green peppers to the onions and cook through. When they’re almost done, thrown in the mushrooms and cook until tender. I tossed a dash of oregano and parsley on top of the dough, grated some fresh Parmesan, the cooked veggies (and some fresh Roma tomatoes), top that all with the mozzarella.

Bake for another 15 to 20 minutes, or until cheese is melted through and dough gets a little crunchier.

 

Leave a Reply

